Get help. Give help.

Powerful Tools For Caregivers

Are you stressed by caregiving? Powerful Tools for Caregivers can help!

Powerful Tools for Caregivers (PTC) was developed by Legacy Health System’s Caregiver Services Department (Portland, OR) as a 6-week educational program to provide family caregivers with tools to increase their self-care and confidence.

Research studies find high rates of depression and anxiety among caregivers and increased vulnerability to health problems.  Caregivers frequently cite restriction of personal activities and social life as problems.  They often feel they have no control over events, and that feeling of powerlessness has a significant negative impact on caregivers’ physical and emotional health.

In the six weekly classes, caregivers develop a wealth of self-care tools to:  reduce personal stress; change negative self-talk; communicate their needs to family members and healthcare/ service providers; communicate more effectively in challenging situations; recognize the messages in their emotions, deal with difficult feelings; and make tough caregiving decisions (re: placement, driving issues, or finances).  Class participants also receive a copy of The Caregiver Helpbook developed specifically for the class.

Powerful Tools for Caregivers in Idaho

Boise


Legacy Corps
Kelle Sweeney
(208) 336-5533, ext 243
ksweeney@jannus.org



Coeur d’Alene


Strengthening Villages
Rebekah Forster-Casey
(208) 771-0628
strengtheningvillages@gmail.com


Grangeville


Syringa Hospital and Clinics
Maja Ledgerwood
(208) 315-2797
mledgerwood@syringahospital.org


Idaho Falls


Area Agency on Aging – Area VI
Heather Croft
(208) 522-5370
hcroft@eicap.org


Lewiston


Community Action Partnerships /
Area Agency on Aging
Julie Christianson
(208) 791-0015
j.christianson@cap4action.org



Nampa


Terry Reilly Health System
Laramie Holtman
(208) 318-1326
lholtman@trhs.org


Pocatello


Southeast Idaho Council of Governments
Mike Hirschi
(208) 399-3077
mike@sicog.org