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IDHW’s Mission is to promote and protect the health and safety of Idahoans. One way we accomplish our mission is a 
fingerprint-based Criminal History Background Check.  

 

 
 

Idaho Health & Welfare Criminal History  
web site 

https://chu.dhw.idaho.gov  
 

Criminal History Unit 
450 W. State 9th Floor 
Boise ID 83720-0036 

Phone:  (208) 332-7990 
Toll Free:  1-800-340-1246 

FAX:  (208) 332-7991 
 

https://chu.dhw.idaho.gov  
crimhist@dhw.idaho.gov 

 
Who needs a background check? 
 
Service Programs: 

 This may include employees, contractors, volunteers and interns at agencies who provide direct service.  Or, have direct 
client access.   Check with your employer.   

 
Licensure or Certification Programs:  

 Individuals seeking licensure or certification from the Department  
 
Health & Welfare Employees 

 IDHW employees providing direct care and service or who have access to children or vulnerable clients.   

 IDHW Bureau of Audits and Investigations employees 

 IDHW/EMS communication specialists and Managers 

 Employees at State Institutions 
 
How much does it cost? 
$55.00 is the fee (exact cash, check or money order) Credit and Debit cards are not accepted.  
 
 
How do I start the background check? 
Go to the web site https://chu.dhw.idaho.gov 
Follow the instructions at the home page.   You will need to use a computer with access to the internet.  If you do not have a 
computer at home, your agency should assist you with your application, or check at your local library.  Computers are 
available at certain Health Welfare offices for this purpose.   The steps are:     
 
1. Register as a new user to create your personal user name and password.   Write them down and keep them as you 

will use them several times.   
2. Next, log on with your personal user name and password.   
3. Choose Complete Application from the menu 
4. Fill in the information page after page. Clicking the NEXT button at the bottom of each page will take you to the next 

page.  
5. When done, click the SUBMIT button 
6. Now you can follow the instructions to schedule your fingerprint appointment. 
7. Finally, print your application and print your status page.   
 
 

https://chu.dhw.idaho.gov/
https://chu.dhw.idaho.gov/
mailto:crimhist@dhw.idaho.gov
https://chu.dhw.idaho.gov/
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What do I bring to the fingerprint appointment?   

 Your picture ID 

 The fee  

 Your signed & notarized application if you have started to work.   

 If you are under 18 years of age, your parent or guardian must sign the application in front of a notary.    
During the background check process, you may be interviewed by Health and Welfare staff and questioned about information 
you disclosed on your application.   
 
I live in a rural area and can’t get to an IDHW fingerprint location.  
You still need to enter your application on the web site.   Instead of scheduling a fingerprint appointment, you can click the 
button Mailing Fingerprints.  Call or e-mail the Criminal History Unit for the fingerprint card you need.  You must use our 
fingerprint card.    When you receive the fingerprint card in the mail, you can ask your local law enforcement agency if they 
will roll your fingerprints on our card.  You mail your Signed and notarized Application forms, fingerprint card and fee to the 
Criminal History office.  
 
When can I work with clients? 
 
That is up to your agency/employer.  They may choose to have you work once they have your signed application that has 
been notarized.   They may want to wait until you have been fingerprinted.   Or they may want to wait until your background 
check is cleared.   It is their choice. 
 
Licensing or Certification applicants must wait until their background check is entirely complete which includes foster 
parenting, adoption, and certified family homes.   If you are unsure about your availability, ask the specific department 
program issuing your licensure or certification.   
 
What does the  Application for Criminal History Background check ask? 
 
The application is going to ask you to answer questions about yourself, your employer or agency, the program you are 
applying for.  Before you apply, you must know your Employer’s ID#.  You get that number from the agency that is requiring 
you to have a background check.  You must also 
disclose all criminal history items you have even if you were a juvenile, an adult, were convicted, dismissed or received a 
withheld judgment.   If you answer yes to any of the questions you will be asked to fill out a supplemental form with the 
details.  
 
You are required to indicate if you have ever had a valid child or adult protection action taken against you, or have any 
pending crimes or warrants.     
 
Your notarized Signature on the Application gives Health & Welfare the authorization to conduct the background check and 
the right to share certain information with your employer or licensing/certification agency. Your notarized signature affirms 
that the information you provided is correct.  Failure to disclose your criminal record may result in the denial of your 
application for a period of three years, or criminal prosecution for perjury.  
 
What is looked at in the background check? 
 
The background check is a nationwide search of crimes using your fingerprints.  The criminal history unit also checks certain 
registries.   

 Federal Bureau of Investigation's National Criminal History Background Check System 

 State Bureau of Criminal Identification,  

 Statewide Child Abuse Register, 

 Statewide Adult Protection Register 

 State Division of Motor Vehicles 

 Idaho Sex Offenders Registration List Office of Inspector General’s Exclusion List 

 Certified Nurse Aide Registry  
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How do I and my agency know when the background check is completed?  
 
The criminal history system sends out an e-mail to you and your agency each you’re your status changes when you include 
your e-mail address on your application.  Without an e-mail address you will have to check your status on the web site 
periodically.  
 
If any action is taken other than clearance, you and your employer will be notified by mail.    
 
Disqualifying  Offenses 
If you have a conviction or withheld judgment as an adult or juvenile of any of the disqualifying offenses, regardless how long 
ago it occurred; you will be excluded and will not pass the background check. You should not apply if you have these crimes.   
You need to tell your employer or agency if you have any of the disqualifying offenses. Refer to the web site for a complete 
description of the disqualifying offenses, and their penal codes. 
 

 abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult; 

 aggravated, first degree and second-degree arson; 

 crimes against nature 

 forcible sexual penetration by use of a foreign object; 

 incest; 

 injury to a child, felony or misdemeanor; 

 kidnapping; 

 lewd conduct with a minor;  

 mayhem 

 murder in any degree; voluntary manslaughter; assault or battery with intent to commit a serious felony. 

 poisoning; 

 possession of sexually exploitative material; 

 rape; in any degree  

 robbery; 

 felony or first degree stalking; 

 sale or barter of a child; 

 sexual abuse or exploitation of a child; 

 Video voyeurism; 

 Enticing of children 

 Inducing individuals under 18 years of age into prostitution or to patronize a prostitute. 

 any felony punishable by death or life imprisonment; or  

 Attempt, conspiracy, accessory after the fact or aiding and abetting to commit any of the Disqualifying offenses             .   
 
Disqualifying Five –Year Offenses. 
If you have a conviction or withheld judgment within five years of any of the disqualifying Five Year offenses as an adult or 
juvenile you need to tell your employer or agency.  You cannot provide service to clients with a disqualifying offense.  Refer 
to the web site for a complete description of the disqualifying offenses.    

 Aggravated assault 

 Aggravated battery 

 Arson in the third degree 

 Attempted Strangulation 

 Burglary;  

 A felony involving a controlled substance 

 Felony Computer Crimes 

 Felony Domestic Violence crimes 

 Felony Lottery crimes. 

 Felony theft & receiving stolen property 

 Forgery and fraudulent use of a financial transaction card; 

 Forgery or counterfeiting; 

 Grand theft 

 Identity Theft 

 insurance fraud; 

 Public assistance fraud; 

 attempt, conspiracy, accessory after the fact or aiding and abetting to commit any of the Disqualifying Five Year offenses 
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Employer/Agency Responsibilities 

 Make employment and client safety decisions. 

 Prescreen applications prior to their submitting an application. 

 Identify if any disqualifying offenses are listed or other offenses the employer feels are relevant records that may pose a 
risk to the health or safety of clients. 

 Do not hire the individual if you are not comfortable with their criminal history.   

 Exclude any with disqualifying offenses. You cannot hire them, so do not have them go through the background check. 

 Provide employees with the 4 digit Employer ID #, service type and contact to select. 

 Assist the applicant in submitting their application.   

 Ensure time frames are met.  

 You must have a signed/notarized application on file before you can put individuals to work.   

 Fingerprints are required to be submitted within 21 days of signing the application and having it notarized.  

 Review background check results. 

 Print their clearance letter and keep on file. 

 Know how to use the web site as the employer.  

 If the employer accepts the transfer of an IDHW background check, the employer will contact the criminal history unit to 
add their ID# to the employee’s records.   

 The Idaho State Police Records check must be conducted on all accepted transfer employees.   
 
 
 
 
 
 


